Paviors’ Medal for Excellence

The Paviors’ Medal for Excellence is awarded annually to an individual for excellence in innovation or a lifetime contribution to the ‘craft of paving’. Nominations may be made from within or outside the livery. Nominations outside the livery can promote the Company in sectors of the industry where it is not well known.

The award winner is selected by the Master on the advice of the Charity Committee and is announced in July, with the award normally being presented at the Annual Banquet at the Mansion House in September. In addition to the award, the winner will receive a certificate and, if not already a Liveryman, be invited to become an Honorary Freeman of the Company. Nominations forms are available from the Clerk and must be returned by 30 April.

Recipients have been;

2018 Sir John Armitt CBE - Chair of the National Infrastructure Commission
‘for a lifetime of achievements for services to engineering and construction across public and private sectors, culminating in the successful construction delivery of the 2012 Olympics, the Presidency of the Institution of Civil Engineers and Chairmanship of the City and Guilds Group’

2017 Sir Peter Hendy - Network Rail
‘for a lifetime’s contribution at the forefront of the transport industry in bus, road and rail, culminating in his role as Chairman, Network Rail, leading major organizations in maintaining and enhancing the nation’s infrastructure’

2016 Dana Skelley - Transport for London
‘for her role as one of the United Kingdom’s most prominent engineers who, not only has championed the cause of women in the industry and has been instrumental in sponsoring a major programme for apprentices, but has also overseen major programmes to improve London’s roads, save money and improve co-operation.’

2015 Dr Cliff Nicholls (Liveryman)
‘for his key role as a Research Fellow at the Transport Research Laboratory, where he led major research into all aspects of the materials and processes associated with pavement engineering; this led to many best-practice guides and improvements in performance, which the industry at large recognizes as a key to its development; this Award is for a lifetime’s leading-edge work at the heart of the paving industry.’

2014 Mary Lewis (Liveryman)
‘for her role as Chief Executive of the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation; for promoting the charitable objects of the Institution, culminating in the award of the Royal Charter and, specifically, for her work over many years in developing and promoting modern routes to professional qualifications for the benefit of the highways and transportation industry.’

2013 Michael Conway (Liveryman)
‘for his vision, innovation and determination over the last 30 years in developing his business into what it is today, with a reputation for a progressive approach to construction industry recycling and sustainability, marking him out as one of the leaders in the industry.’

2012 David Hutchinson (Liveryman)
‘for over 40-years’ service, contribution and dedication to the highway industry in both the public and private sectors, raising the profile of highway maintenance issues and advising on key partnerships to deliver better value for the travelling public.’

2011 Colin Loveday - Tarmac
‘for 40-years’ service, leadership and dedication to road highway paving involving innovation such as the introduction of thin surfacings, durability and sustainability by extending the life expectancy of pavements and the overall setting of standards, working collaboratively with all stakeholders at both the UK and European level.’

2010 John Cook - Ministry of Defence
‘For over 30 years dedication to the design, evaluation, construction and maintenance of airfield pavements both in the UK and overseas.’

2009 Len Parker (Liveryman)
‘For a lifelong commitment to civil engineering and in particular, the lifelong development of and improvement of construction materials and techniques in airfield, motorway and highway construction.’

2008 Carl Fergusson - Colas
‘For his contribution over 20 years to the specialist field of asphalt technology being responsible for the delivery of some of the most logistically challenging and innovative asphalt projects in the UK.’

2007 Mrs Angela Yeoman (Liveryman) - Foster Yeoman
‘For her zeal, energy and determination in a lifetime contribution to the quarrying industry with particular application to road surfacing, as a Director and later Chairman of Foster Yeoman.’

2006 Dr Allan Dowson (Freeman) - Allan Dowson Consulting
‘For his contribution over 40 years to the development and production of stone and precast products for use in a variety of applications in roads, footways and gardens.’

2005 Charles Lawrence - Sports and Play Contractors’ Association
‘For his contribution over 25 years to the design, development and construction of all-weather synthetic sports and play surfaces, including artificial grass pitches for football and hockey, and polymetric surfaces for athletics and playgrounds.’

2004 Professor Stephen Brown (Liveryman) - University of Nottingham
‘For his leadership of research into the design and construction of flexible pavements for more than 30 years. His research has led to improved analytical methods of design, balancing economy with durability, which are now widely used by highway engineers in the United Kingdom and internationally.’

2003 Graham John Bowskill - Highways Agency
‘For his contribution to the design and specification of pavements for major roads over the last 25 years, and in particular to the introduction of performance-based specifications. This in turn has lead to innovation in the use of thin surfacings and recycled materials.’

2002 Kenneth Alfred Riley (Liveryman) - Tarmac
‘For over forty years of service to the asphalt industry, his leadership in promotion of education and training in asphalt technology and champion of excellence in the trade.’

2001 Professor John Knapton - University of Newcastle
‘For his contribution to the development of all forms of rigid and flexible pavements, and particularly in the use of concrete block and clay pavers for heavy duty floors and hard standings in the United Kingdom and worldwide.’

2000 Douglas Colwill - Transport Research Laboratory
‘For over forty years’ service to highways research in materials, construction and maintenance, both on a national and international level.’

Member Login